Someone tell me

When did having anxiety become “trendy?”

Since when does laying in your bed unable to speak to anyone, even your closest friends and family become “cool?” Since WHEN is not being able to sleep at night because your mind is going 100 mph something people brag about? I can’t even walk past a person or speak up in class without feeling like all eyes and minds are on me. I freak out in my head when someone waves at me; when i pass someone on the sidewalk. Once I went 5 miles out of my way because I didn’t want the car behind me to get angry because I was looking for a street sign to turn at one night.  When did that become something people wanted? When?

I’ll tell you what, I will trade my anxiety for your anxiousness any day of the year. So, when you finally feel it for real, tell me; is it cool? Is it trendy now? Is it fun? Do you feel more aesthetic? Do you want to brag about it now?

Didn’t think so. It’s not cool. It’s not fun. It’s not a trend. It is a disease. Quit pretending it’s something everyone experiences. Yeah, everyone get anxious, not everyone has anxiety.

Leave a Reply

