the familiar fades

I saw you. For the first time in a long time. It had been months. This sweet soul that I knew so well before. You laid in my bed. We talked for hours. You said you miss me and think about me often. And I the same, you have no clue.

But, the sweetness came to an end as I cupped your face in my hand. A shock traveled through my spine. My blood went cold. My hair stood on end. My skin crawled. The face that I had touched so many times, had known so well by heart, was not the same. It was completely unfamiliar.

And when you left, I cried.

Leave a Reply

